Department of Education warns high schools of cyber security threats

11/09/2017

High school's in the United States have transitioned from storing their student's personal information in file cabinets to electronic files. This type of filing has been around for about 10 years and the technology for these filing applications and websites have advanced throughout the years. The information that these files contain are important and sensitive to the public eye like for instance a student's social security number and health records. 

As a young man in high school when technology was only beginning to take over storing information and offering school services, I can say that I can't relate. Hacking wasn't a big issue in the world when I was in high school, so I never took much thought of how secure my information was and the severity of it being stolen. I would feel more concerned about my information being stolen if I was in high school today compared to when I actually went. Yes, the online security for high schools have progressed, but the methods and technology that hackers use has also advanced. 

They mentioned in the article about a website called "Naviance". Naviance is a software provider that high schools use to store students information that would pertain to applying to college. My high school began using this software my senior year and I barely used it. I can imagine that the website has progressed with their display, services and of course security, but I wouldn't be surprised if the amount of hacking has increased in my area. 

https://www.usnews.com/high-schools/blogs/high-school-notes/articles/2017-11-06/high-school-safety-includes-protecting-teens-data

Brad Beard- Cyber Security 
All rights reserved 2017
Powered by Webnode
Create your website for free! This website was made with Webnode. Create your own for free today! Get started